Too much words but… hey, there are pictures too ! Part 2

Let’s resume my too long letter to RA :) 

Then what happened to make me reconsider your career, Mr Armitage, to the point of feeling the urge to tell you and the world about it ? (well, not the world, but a few crazies like me on tumblr, and not you but your agent’s assistant🙂 ) 

Darcy / Colin Firth

 Yes, everything started with him. 

Well, I’ve always loved BBC historical dramas. It started with Pride and Prejudice, like thousands other women all over the world I suppose, and since then I’ve never been disappointed with their novels adaptations. But, as if I was meant to ignore your talent, North and South didn’t tempt me at first. It took me the repeated praises of a friend to finally convince me.I was in a difficult period and I terribly needed a distraction, I needed to divert myself from my life, so I plunged. I’ve watched it. In one rainy afternoon. And how amazed I was ! How admirative I became !

I didn’t care if you were handsome or not, since Thornton wasn’t Milton’s handsomest man, but I was fascinated by the quality of your acting skills. How well you impersonated the conflicts of Thornton, his brutality, his temper, he’s such a proud and brooding man ! And yet, even though he had to grew up fast in order to take care of his family, he’s just a boy, which is perfectly shown every time he smiles, all his features, all your features enlightened. He has a soft spot for Margaret Hale, and there is a true alchemy every time Daniela and you are together on screen.

Even though, there are many differences between the book and the serie, I did not feel betrayed because there was the essence of Margaret and John’s relationship, all in silences and glances full of unspoken feelings, all in tension, misunderstandings and well chosen details. Just « Look back at me» sums it all for me.

You did a faithful and remarkable job by portraying John Thornton and I thank you for that. Each time I feel depressed, I just have to watch the last 15 minutes of the 4th episode and it cheers me up. So, here’s the first load of my profound admiration. Thank you Mr Armitage🙂.

French translation below🙂

Reprenons ma trop longue lettre à RA.

Que s’est-il donc passer, M. Armitage, pour me faire reconsidérer votre carrière au point d’éprouver le besoin de vous le dire à vous ainsi qu’au monde entier ? (enfin, pas le monde entier, mais plutôt une poignée de barges comme moi sur tumblr, et vous non plus mais plutôt l’assistant de l’assistant de votre agent😉 )

Et bien, j’ai toujours adoré les adaptations de la BBC de drames historiques. Cela a commencé avec Orgueils et Préjugés, , comme des milliers de femmes à travers le monde je suppose, et depuis je n’ai jamais été déçue par leurs adaptations de romans. Mais, comme si j’étais destinée à ignorer votre talent, Nord et Sud ne me tentait au premier abord. Il me fallut les incitations répétées d’une amie pour me convaincre. Je vivais une période difficile et j’avais terriblement besoin d’une distraction, j’avais un besoin vital de me détourner de ma vie, alors j’ai plongé. Et j’ai regardé les 4 épisodes, en un seul après-midi pluvieux. Et comme j’étais fascinée ! Comme je suis devenue admirative ! 

I didn’t care if you were handsome or not, since Thornton wasn’t Milton’s handsomest man, but I was fascinated by the quality of your acting skills. How well you impersonated the conflicts of Thornton, his brutality, his temper, he’s such a proud and brooding man ! And yet, even though he had to grew up fast in order to take care of his family, he’s just a boy, which is perfectly shown every time he smiles, all his features, all your features enlightened. He has a soft spot for Margaret Hale, and there is a true alchemy every time Daniela and you are together on screen.

Cela n’avait aucune importance que vous soyez attirant ou non, puisque Thornton n’était pas l’homme le plus beau de Milton, mais j’étais fascinée par la qualité de vos talents d’acteur. Comme vous avez bien incarné les conflits de Thornton, sa violence, ses humeurs, c’est un homme si fier et si ronchon ! Et pourtant, même s’il a été obligé de grandir vite afin de s’occuper de sa famille, c’est n’est qu’un garçon, ce qui est parfaitement montré à chaque fois qu’il sourit, ses traits, vos traits illuminés. Il a un faible pour Margaret Hale, et il existe une réelle alchemie entre Daniela et vous, ce qui se voit à chaque fois que vous êtes ensemble à l’écran.

Même s’il existe de nombreuses différences entre la série et le livre, je ne me suis pas sentie trahie puisque j’ai retrouvé l’essence de la relation entre Margaret et John, toute en silences et regards emplis de sentiments réprimés, toute en tensions, malentendus et détails bien choisis. ” Retournes-toi” résume tout pour moi. 

You did a faithful and remarkable job by portraying John Thornton and I thank you for that. Each time I feel depressed, I just have to watch the last 15 minutes of the 4th episode and it cheers me up. So, here’s the first load of my profound admiration Mr Armitage🙂.

Vous avez fait un travail fidèle et remarquable en interprétant John Thornton et je vous remercie pour cela. A chaque fois que j’ai une baisse de morale, je n’ai qu’à regarder les 15 dernières minutes du 4ème épisode pour être remontée à bloc. Voici la première fournée de ma profonde admiration M. Armitage🙂

Laisser un commentaire

