Why him ? (part 2)

Why him ? Come on, it’s Lucas ! 

Let’s resume my ramblings, first part here.

Second question the obvious one : why him ?

Of course, Richard is a charming man, there would be no Army wearing his name if he were not. And of course he does have certain qualities searched amongst men : tall, broad shoulders, large hands, bright smile, piercing blue eyes and deep voice, I can’t deny it.

But like a Sean Bean, there is something about him, some duality, some darkness in his features with his fine lips and too long nose (which is perfect in its imperfection, he wouldn’t be himself without it) that allows him to play whoever he wants, good or evil. But it gives him quite a stern look. Each of these features taken separately is a flaw, but put together they create a harmony more than attractive. Richard turns his flaws into qualities, which brings a depth to him, a depth impossible to resist. He’s not perfect, just a normal human being and yet so tangible.

He’s not plain gorgeous, he’s not just a pretty face and I think that’s why so many people actually like him, why I like him. Because it makes me want to see past that face and enjoy what he can bring on screen. He also seems so modest and humble, so polite in every single interview that it’s impossible not to like him.

I’ve got a huge respect for his work, I’ve rarely been so moved by an actor as I’ve been by him. That’s how my addiction  fondness started I guess🙂

  1. J’ai lu avec un grand plaisir vos commentaires sur Richard Armitage. Moi-meme je suis fascinee depuis 4 ans par son talent et sa beaute. Il est vrai, s’il etais seulement « a pretty face » je ne serais pas interessee par lui. Mais sa beaute est d’abord une beaute interieure (et un immense talent) qui lui donne une harmonie particuliere et qui cisele son visage et son corps. De temps en temps je dessine son portrait- c’est une maniere de mieux comprendre « L’Effet Armitage ».

  2. Un commentaire en français, quel plaisir !🙂 Je pense que sa beauté intérieure se voit à l’extérieur, c’est ce qui lui donne cette harmonie particulière à son visage comme tu le dis si bien. Il doit avoir un visage très intéressant et agréable à dessiner je pense, entre les angles de son nez, sa mâchoire et ses pommettes.

  3. Je ne suis pas Francaise, mais je connait le francais mieux que l’anglais, bien que grace a mon admiration pour Richard Armitage j’ai essayez d’amelliorer mon anglais.
    Dessiner, c’est une maniere tres interessante de comprendre. Mais il n’est pas facile de fixer sur la toile les traits de Richard – un melange unique, surprenant de masculinite et d’expressions garconnieres, d’arrogance, de severite et de tendresse, etc… Tu le sais bien.

  4. Je croyais avoir répondu à ton commentaire, mais j’ai du me mélanger les pinceaux ! Richard est en effet une excellente motivation pour améliorer son anglais🙂 Tu as déjà partagé tes dessins sur la toile ? Je serais curieuse de les voir. Cela fait trop longtemps que j’ai arrêté le dessin, mais j’ai quand même essayé de faire une esquisse de lui car il m’inspirait.

  5. Pingback: RA’s autograph | thefrencharmitagearmy

Laisser un commentaire

