RA’s autograph

Version française de l’article sous « lire la suite »🙂

In the early stages of my addiction, when I was still deep in North and South, the very origin of the existence of this blog, I felt a compelling need to express what I felt. For Richard, in his incredible talent, is an actor who makes me feel things, feelings, emotions, sensations. It’s not only his job that triggers this phenomenon but his whole being. A well-chosen photo of him, a particular quote, and especially his voice makes me feel. Never an actor had caused this reaction before him. In contact with his work, through what I felt so badly, I felt alive too. Therefore, overflowing with these intense feelings, I needed to externalize and put words on it.

Richard's autograph, taken from here

The very first thing I did was to write. Specifically write to him. I need to say that this letter, although written for and about him, was not really intended to him. It was a way like another to express what I felt with and for him. Indeed, the only time I’ve written to a celebrity, was at 9 and it was for the Spice Girls – please don’t judge me ! XD-. Suffice to say that I wasn’t used to this stuff ! So I wrote this letter, this long letter in English to explain, and above all, to explain to myself the reasons of my sudden and disproportionate dedication to this man I’ll never meet. Some extracts of this letter have been incorporated into my Why now? ,Why him?  and Why me?posts

That was a release but it wasn’t enough. Starting to look up information about him via Google (like everyone :D), I discovered blogs, forums and wonderful sites, designed to fuel my addiction. I wanted to know everything about him. But strangely, the only thing I didn’t sought was if he were in a relationship or not, returning key word in research related to his name :) Then I discovered the special relationship he maintains with his fans, these lovely messages he’s sent them, and also the subject I wanted to raise here : autographed photos. I didn’t even think you could write to a celebrity asking for one !
So I now had a letter and an address. What would I do? I thought to send my pages. I thought about it seriously. Even if I knew that my letter would not arrive in his hands, I needed to express all the good I thought of him because it never hurts to receive a compliment😉. I  prepared everything,  I just had to post it. But I couldn’t. For a whole month I kept this envelope at the bottom of my bag, to the point that it got damaged. And then I put it away in a drawer, where it’s still there, crumpled and stained.Why? Why did I not send it? Why would I never ask for an autograph from Richard ?

This one is Jonia's, found on her wonderful blog🙂

I understand the need some people feel to request an autograph, be it face to face with a celebrity or by mail, it’s a trace, a proof of the encounter in the first case, and it’s a piece of said celebrity in the second. I do not judge this practice. But it doesn’t reflect me at all. Actually if I were to send this letter, it weren’t an autographed photo I’d  wish to receive in return but an answer, not necessarily a letter, but at least a few lines, something personal, real, addressed to me.  An autograph is not enough for me, I must be too demanding ! It’s like in the case of an encounter. I don’t picture myself  to a premiere, crushed between dozens and dozens other fans, begging for an autograph. Perhaps I would see  him from afar, but I certainly would not be in the crowd. Again, don’t get me wrong, I do not denigrate these attitudes, it’s just that it’s not what I’m looking for. If he were in front of me, I would want to talk to him, ask him questions (one day I’d have to dig  this interview fantasy I have …), and try to capture a little of his being during these precious seconds (minutes ?🙂 ), not take a picture of me with him or his autograph on a photo.
I want more from him, so much more than what he can give to his fans (and no, I’m not talking about what might happen in a bed or elsewhere ….;)) Thus I prefer to keep my distance I prefer to have nothing from him rather than have those scraps that’ll never satisfy my hunger of him.

Aux premiers stades de mon addiction, quand j’étais encore profondément ancré dans Nord et Sud, l’origine même de l’existence de ce blog, j’ai ressenti un besoin impérieux d’exprimer ce que je ressentais. Car Richard, dans son talent incroyable, est un acteur qui me fait ressentir des choses, des sentiments, des émotions, des sensations. Ce n’est pas seulement son travail qui déclenche ce phénomène, c’est tout son être. Une photo bien choisie de lui, une citation particulière, et surtout sa voix me font ressentir. Jamais un acteur n’avait provoqué cette réaction avant lui. Il m’a fait ressentir, et au contact de son travail, par le truchement de ce que j’éprouvais si violemment, je me suis sentie vivante. De ce fait, débordante de ces sensations intenses,  j’avais besoin de les extérioriser et de mettre des mots dessus. 

La toute première chose que j’ai faite a été d’écrire. Plus précisément de lui écrire. Je tiens à préciser que cette lettre, bien qu’écrite pour et à propos de lui, ne lui était pas vraiment destiné. C’était un moyen comme un autre d’exprimer ce que j’éprouvais par  et pour lui.  D’ailleurs, la seule fois où j’ai écrit à une célébrité, j’avais 9 ans et c’était pour les Spice Girls. Autant dire que je n’ai pas l’habitude de ce genre de choses ! J’ai donc écrit cette lettre, cette longue lettre en anglais pour expliquer et surtout m’expliquer à moi-même les raisons de mon attachement soudain et disproportionné pour cet homme que je ne rencontrerai jamais. Certains passages de cette lettre ont été intégré dans mes articles  Why now ?, Why him ?  et Why me ? .

C’ était un exutoire mais ce n’était pas suffisant. En commençant à rechercher des informations sur lui via Google,  j’ai découvert des blogs, des forums et des sites merveilleux, parfait pour assouvir mon addiction. Je voulais tout savoir sur lui. Mais étrangement, la seule chose que je n’ai pas recherché était s’il était en couple ou non, mot clés qui reviennent très souvent dans les recherches assimilés à son nom🙂 J’ai donc découvert la relation particulière qu’il entretient avec ces fans, ces mots adorables qu’il leur envoient, et également le sujet que je souhaitais aborder ici : ses photos autographiés. Je n’imaginais même pas qu’on pouvait écrire à une célébrité pour en recevoir ! 

J’avais donc à présent une lettre et une adresse. Qu’allais-je en faire ? J’ai pensé lui envoyer mes pages. J’y ai pensé sérieusement. Même si je savais pertinemment que ma lettre n’arriverait pas entre ses mains, j’avais besoin de lui exprimer tout le bien que je pensais de lui, car cela ne fait jamais de mal de recevoir un compliment😉 J’ai tout préparé, je n’avais qu’à la poster. Mais je n’ai pas pu. Pendant un mois entier j’ai gardé cette enveloppe au fond de mon sac, au point qu’elle en soit abîmée. Et puis je l’ai rangé dans un tiroir, où elle y est toujours, froissée, tâchée et cornée.

Pourquoi ? Pourquoi ne l’ai je pas envoyé ? Pourquoi ne demanderai-je jamais un autographe à Richard ? 

Je comprend le besoin que certaines personnes ont de demander un autographe, que ce soit face à une célébrité ou par courrier, c’est une trace, une preuve de la rencontre dans le premier cas, et c’est un morceau d’elle dans le second. Je ne juge donc pas cette pratique. Mais cela ne me correspond pas tout simplement. Si j’envoyais réellement cette lettre, ce n’est pas une photo autographiée que je souhaiterais recevoir en retour mais une réponse, pas forcément une lettre, mais au moins quelques lignes, quelque chose de personnel, de réel. Un autographe ne me suffit pas, je dois être trop exigeante ! C’est comme dans le cas d’une rencontre.  Je ne me vois pas me rendre à une première, écrasée entre des dizaine d’autres fans pour quémander une signature sur une photo. Je le verrais peut-être de loin, mais je ne serais certainement pas dans la foule. Comprenez bien encore une fois que je ne dénigre pas ces attitudes, c’est juste que ce n’est pas ce que je recherche. Si je l’avais en face de moi, je souhaiterais lui parler, lui poser des questions (il faudrait que je creuse un jour ce fantasme d’interview que j’ai…), essayer de capter un peu de son être pendant ces précieuses secondes (minutes ?🙂 ), pas me prendre en photo avec lui ou lui faire signer un photo. 

Je veux plus de lui, tellement plus que ce qu’il peut donner à ses fans ( et non, je ne parle pas de ce qui pourrait se passer dans un lit…. ou ailleurs😉 ) que je préfère garder mes distances, je préfère ne rien avoir de lui plutôt que d’avoir ces miettes qui ne combleront jamais mon appétit de lui.

  1. Wow. I admire your honesty, esp your sentence about not wanting it since you aren’t going to have anything of him anyway.. I wrote a post like this a long time ago — what’s wrong with me that I don’t want an autograph? — and now I am wondering about my own feelings. At the time I had a similar response; I kind of thought, what you really want is to have a conversation with the man. An autograph isn’t the same. I admit, though, that when I saw Jonia’s photos of her autographs during Fanstravaganza 3, I started asking myself again about it all.

    • I’ll have to look for your post then ! Well, like you, I don’t see the point of writing on a blog if I’m not true to myself. I sometimes question myself. Does the fact that I don’t want an autograph make a bad fan of me ? A non-worthy one ? I don’t think so. I’m probably too uncompromising, the all or nothing kind🙂
      But every time I read or hear about one of us who have received something from him, I’m genuinely happy for them. It might sounds weird but I feel like it would hurt me more than anything else. The only compromise I could make would be, like I said, a message, a few lines handwritten by him, that could make me happy.

      • http://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/my-deficiencies-as-an-armitage-fan/ although this seems not to be where I discussed thinking I couldn’t have anything of him. That might have been the « stage door » post — I’d have to look. At the point I wrote the above, I was worried about how much time he spent signing autographs (and I admit this bugged me again recently when I saw autographs for sale for 50 GBP on ebay — including some on a first day cover. I mean, he shouldn’t be signing things for other people to make money from).

        Agree re: being honest or what’s the point.

      • Oh, and: « it would hurt me » — that’s how I’ve felt for years about meeting him. Like it would be almost painful.

      • Thanks for the link ! And as usual, your post was full of links so I ended up reading 5 or 6 posts instead of one, but that was good🙂 It would never cross my mind to sell an autograph on ebay ! I really don’t get those autographs hunters. And I too wonder about how much time Richard spend signing these pictures. I mean, the guy has been working relentlessly for so many months, and one of the first things he does when he gets back for Christmas is to please his fans. It’s adorable, but he should take care of himself first !🙂
        In french, I call this feeling un bonheur douloureux, something like a bitter-sweet bliss. I think I feel this way because if I ever were to meet him, the meeting ,and not him, might not live up to my expectations🙂

  2. Wow, I love your post! I feel the same way. I have a dream that I would become a sort of pen pal with Richard. We would write and text back and forth. I couldn’t contemplate writing to him for an autograph! I want to talk, to have conversations, to share our feelings, etc. I guess I’m greedy, too. I just want to have his friendship! He’s such a wonderful person, a person, not just a cookie cutter actor. I guess I’m a fan, but I really don’t want to be a fan, I want to be a friend. I think that says something about Richard. Yes, he is sexy, and hot, but I’d love to be his friend and confidant. He’s not a sex symbol to me, he’s a great guy, a complex and interesting man!

  3. Pingback: Legenda 24: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

  4. Hello. I am not sure when the ‘Autographed Photo’ became the badge of being a fan? It is certainly something nice that is offered via Actors’ Agents, but I think in today’s communication world (unlike days of old), there are so many other avenues open to fandom participants.

    I could be wrong, but I think Richard Armitage has said that if someone has taken the time and effort to write him a letter that he would take it upon himself to write a response – that, indeed, he would feel this to be the only polite thing to do. I am not sure that he would have the time to read and address pages of blog posts, but I still do believe that if you chose to write him a nice letter, that you would get a genuine response from the man himself in kind (perhaps you could make it easier by including a self-addressed envelope).

    So if this is something you feel compelled to do, I think you should do it!! Do not let fear of the unknown response stand in your way! And Good Luck!! 🙂

    • Thanks for commenting !
      Is being a RA fan like being a scout? Thanks to you, I’ve now this picture in mind of a whole collection of badges to get based on your achievements😀

      Are you trying to convince me ? To tempt me ? It’s not working. Or maybe a little bit🙂 More seriously, this is how I feel about it right now, maybe I’ll change my mind, I’m not that stubborn.

      • Ahhh, that’s such a sweet image! You are reminding me of the character of « Russell » in the movie « Up » who just needed that badge for ‘helping the elderly’!! 🙂

        I am really not trying to convince you or to tempt you.😉 I am merely stating something I remember RA to have said in the past. I’ll tell you another story that may illustrates my point: one of my dear friends was a member of the original cast of Spring Awakening on Broadway. She must have been 17 or 18 at the time. The musical became a runaway hit and swept the Tony Awards when it was released. One day, while signing Playbills at the Stage Door after a performance, a man walked up to her to thank her for her performance. He then told her that he had actually seen the show months earlier and had been in such a terrible state of mind that he had contemplated taking his own life that evening. However, something about her performance had so moved him, that he decided not to, as he considered her portrayal. He had flown back to NYC to see the show again so that he could thank her in person.

        Performing that same role day in and day out for 3 years, how could she possibly have known that one performance could make such a difference in another person’s life?? But I know that she still feels awed and humbled by that meeting and also honored that this man came back to share his story with her.

        Obviously, you should not do anything that makes you in the least bit uncomfortable! But if you are moved to share a genuine, heartfelt message of thanks – you can rest easy knowing it will be a gift for the recipient as well. 🙂

      • I think people should write to him if they want. At the same time, I suspect he gets a lot of letters telling him something very similar, as I’ve talked to so many fans who feel that he did something of importance for their lives — not to say people shouldn’t write to share their stories, but I suspect he’s not suffering for lack of such missives.

  5. Right. Well, just saying people should follow what they feel is the right thing to do (if they are moved to) without worrying about how many others are out there doing the same thing or if they will get a response. I still do believe each letter is read and has a positive personal impact. I don’t think it is necessary for everyone to write, of course – as a great deal of what is produced here is a journey of self-reflection, inspired by him, but not necessarily having anything to do with him other than his performances (if even just the performance of his public persona).

  6. Haha, enfin quelqu’un qui me comprend ! J’ai l’impression qu’à travers tes mots, tes phrases, tes paroles … C’est tout simplement moi. Je suis dans ton cas, j’ai également beaucoup d’admiration pour Richard. Je ne sais pas trop quelles sont ses sensations étranges que je ressens à son égard. Elles sont si différentes, si irréelles et si nouvelles pour moi que je m’égare complètement …
    Et puis, je n’ose non plus lui envoyer une lettre. A vrai dire, ce n’est pas pour la même raison que toi … C’est plus par peur de paraitre ridicule et gamine.

    • Ca me fait plaisir d’avoir un commentaire en français, c’est si rare !😀 Sois rassurée, tu n’es pas la seule à être victime de l’effet Armitage.
      Je pense que mettre tes idées par écrit peut t’aider à clarifier tes idées. Ce n’est pas parce que tu écris une lettre que tu es une gamine. A moins de lui envoyer un string, il y a peu de chance que tu paraisses ridicule ! Et puis, ce n’est pas parce que tu écris une lettre que tu dois l’envoyer. Cela prend du temps😉

  7. Pingback: Meeting Richard Armitage | Rencontrer Richard Armitage | thefrencharmitagearmy

  8. Ça peut te paraître étrange mais je comprends vraiment ce que tu veux dire par « j’ai ressenti un besoin impérieux d’exprimer ce que je ressentais », je connaissais Richard Armitage par la série Robin des Bois et dés là je le trouvais extraordinaire,mais depuis Le Hobbit je veux en savoir encore et encore plus (et heureusement il y a des blog comme le tien « parfait pour assouvir mon addiction »😉 ! Et comme tu le dis j’ai besoin d’en parler à tout le monde,mais ils en ont vite eu ras-le-bol ^^
    Et j’aimerais lui envoyer une lettre ou le rencontrer mais pas pour avoir une photo dédicacée mais pour (en quelque sorte pasque c’est un peu compliqué à expliquer =S) qu’il sache que j’existe en fait,pour qu’il sache qu’il a une fan française qui pense à lui très souvent. Ça peut sembler étrange mais si je le rencontre un jour LA chose que je lui dirais c’est « ne m’oubliez pas » en gros……….c’est un peu bizarre mais c’est ça ^^ »
    Et j’ai beaucoup apprécié ta dernière phrase : »je préfère ne rien avoir de lui plutôt que d’avoir ces miettes qui ne combleront jamais mon appétit de lui. » je la trouve très belle et très réaliste =)

    • Cela ne me semble pas étrange, je pense que nous sommes nombreuses à éprouver ce besoin, et pas seulement grace à RA🙂 Ce qui est dur lorsqu’on est passionnée, surtout au début dans cette période où l’on passe de heures à écumer internet à la recherche d’infos, de photos, de vidéos, c’est de n’avoir personne avec qui le partager. Cela peut prendre une telle place qu’on a besoin d’en parler autour de soi, quitte à gonfler rapidement notre entourage😀

      Avec toute la folie qui a entourée la sortie du Hobbit, je pense qu’il est courant que son armée existe, qu’elle est internationale et qu’elle se développe. Mais je peux comprendre l’envie que tu as d’etre en quelque sorte reconnue. Si tu éprouves le besoin de lui écrire, fais le.

  9. Super ton blog, je suis ravie de découvrir les autres fans françaises du superbe Richard Armitage.
    Bizarrement (ou pas), je ressens un sentiment identique au tien. C’est la première fois qu’une célébrité me fait un tel effet, je n’ai pas l’envie d’avoir un autographe de lui mais j’ai plutôt le besoin de le rencontrer en personne, il est si beau à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur: je fonds.
    J’aimerais tellement qu’il passe en France ou qu’il y ait une opportunité qui vienne de le voir en chair et en os… J’espère toujours.
    Je suis fan depuis que j’ai vu North and South, il m’a époustouflée. Puis, j’ai regardé Strike back : Excellent! Ensuite Robin Hood: il m’a envoutée, j’étais conquise pour de bon. Je ressentais ce besoin monstre de tout savoir de lui, de tout connaitre. A chacune de mes découvertes, je l’admirais davantage et l’estimais pour tant de travail, d’authenticité, de bonté, d’humilité, d’humour et de talent.

    Bref, à chaque fois qu’il apparait dans mon champ de vision, je me sens bien, euphorique et tellement heureuse que je suis fière d’être fan de RA.

    Bonne continuation pour ton blog🙂

    • Ce que tu décris est, je crois, ce qu’on peut appeler l’Armitage effect😀

      Je suis toujours fascinée de voir à quel point l’expérience est la meme pour toutes, la découverte, la fascination, la curiosité et le besoin d’en savoir toujours plus, de voir plus de lui.

      Je désespère également de le voir poser un pied en France, meme si je ne sais pas trop ce que je ferais si c’était le cas🙂

Laisser un commentaire

